Roan, Now.

[Note:  My friend/advisor/comrade Lola reminded me yesterday that I haven’t been asking/pleading/procuring votes for the Nickelodeon Parents’ Picks awards, for which I am nominated.  So here I go: please click here and vote for me, then come back and enjoy the Pistols and the Popcorn.  Thanks!]

 
Roan blows my mind when he draws for me.  It’s not that I think he’s particularly gifted as an artist, but he is awesome at letting me know he thought about me, during the day.  Every day when I pick him up from his class, he has armfuls of paper, filled with pictures, usually specifically for me with either “MOM!” or “JODI!” scrawled on the top to mark intended ownership.  Sometimes, he has typed and printed a message, like, “Hot today parck today ice krem today say yes today” which is quite compelling to a mother like me, who just can’t help but say “Yep yep” when it’s presented that way. 

 
I wonder how long my boy will have his mind so focused on the things we do together.  How long until his autonomy takes over and his life is more about his friends and his experiences with them, than his with me.  I look forward to that for him, for him to branch out and see how he impacts others and they him, but I just cannot help but feel greedy and sentimental about my Roan – the archetypal “mama’s boy” who can still be bribed with extra songs at night, or the promise of me laying down with him for an extra five minutes.  I know these things will change.  But now – while they are still this way, I’ve just got to give words to this time in our relationship and how thankful I am that I’ve been able to have it with such an interesting and sweet boy.


6 responses to “Roan, Now.

  1. What precious moments these are! I don’t have children but I imagine it goes by quickly, and for you to recogonize these moments is great, becasue some parents don’t!

  2. Jodi – you have hit on what I believe to be the key to parenting! Enjoy your children for the individuals they are. Always be yourself around them, and always allow them to be themselves with you. There is a respect in that simple premise that makes for a solid foundation as you and your children grow. I’ve got my fingers crossed that it will get me through my daughters’ impending teenage years!

  3. I have long been fearfully anticipating the dreaded teenage years…and my boy’s withdrawal from me. As we know, adolescence can be rocky, confusing, rebellious, and downright emotionally messy. But here is a message of hope in the form of a moment in our lives during the week Gabe turned 13:G: Mom, can I go to a dance performance with my friend Noah?M: How are you getting there?G: I’ll walk.M: How bout I drive you?G: OK….G: Don’t drop me off at the front door, just here on the street.(this is when my heart sank with fear of our impending separation, I froze up, and my jaw dropped)G: Listen Mom, this isn’t about you. You know I love you, am proud of you, and think I have the coolest mom of all my friends. It’s just that kids my age make fun of one another when they are associated with their parents. Remember?And I did remember. And the fact that he walked me through this scary moment made it so much easier to trust in his abilities to make good choices on his own. He stayed out till 9pm hanging out with girls (and a chaperone), eating ice cream and having the time of his life. I didn’t realize I would derive such pleasure from his good time, but I did. That night he asked for extra snuggle time, wanted to talk late into the night, and we bonded over his new-found freedom. THIS I can handle. Jodi- you are setting the stage for a lifetime of love and connection with your son that will not go away, just change and grow into a deep and meaningful relationship with an extraordinary man. What a gift of love you are giving to each other. There is nothing more beautiful or sacred if you ask me.

  4. Courtney – geez I have no choice really – they jump up and smack me in the eye. The way I love this kid is just primal and something that I’d never imagined. dbean – I agree that encouraging our children to be true to who they are is the key. And though it’s hard to model that (I tend to try to do the put-on around him that I obey each and every rule. HA!) I do try my best to let him see me fall down when it happens. He seems to take that in and really open his eyes when he sees my true self shining. Not that it happens all that often…..Le La Lu – Your exchange with ol’ G is exactly what I hope for with my guy. It’s so cool that you can listen to him, and that he knows you will. I think that kind of power for a child to have – faith that he has his parents’ ear – is for sure going to keep him safe. I’m watching you for tips – I’m taking notes.

  5. Ahttp://www.. What a sweetie he is! I hope to get some of those kinds of notes someday, too! 🙂

  6. Morning Jodi,My heartstrings are tugged at when my 5 year old grandson says “I’ll miss you Nanny” before leaving you after you have spent almost two entire days of loving him!

Leave a Reply

