Name Dropping Famous Friends to Fight Cancer

A Brief History (No Quiz Later)

For anyone just finding me, my brother is The Fat Cyclist, or “Fatty” as his friends mockingly but oh-so-lovingly call him.  My brother’s wife, Susan, has stage 4 breast cancer and is fighting an amazing and exhausting fight.  They have four kids and a legion of readers and friends backing them in this battle.  Fatty, his family and his readers have been on the ropes with cancer for years now, and are kicking it up a notch (BAM!) by dominating the Livestrong Challenge.

 

The goal is to have the largest team (Team Fatty: Fighting for Susan) in each of the four cities of the Livestrong Challenge, and to raise breathtaking amounts of money for the Lance Armstrong Foundation, which has been pivotal in keeping Fatty, his family, and countless others informed, prepared, and comforted in their struggles with cancer.  As of this writing, Team Fatty has collectively raised $252,482.  Yeh, that’s awesome.


So What’s it to Me? (By “me” I mean “you”)

I am raising money for the San Jose leg of the Livestrong Challenge.  Never mind that I live in Brooklyn, NY.  This is just how I do. With a few blog posts and emails, I have been able to raise $2,660.  I have truly been overwhelmed with the generosity of my friends and my strangers, but am preparing myself to be even more overwhelmed.  I will be hosting online raffles every week until Tuesday, June 30th, at which time the winners for each raffle will be drawn at a fundraising event held at Layla Jones Pizza in my own Brooklyn neighborhood.  You do not need to be present to win.  But I advise that you be there if you can because they have wickedly delicious pizza.


How Do I Win…er….uh…Enter? 

Online entries for the raffle can be made directly to my Livestrong Challenge Page.  For every donation of $5.00, a raffle ticket will be generated for you.  So if you donate $20.00, you will get…lesee here…where’s my calculator….

 

4 tickets!  And so on.  Obviously the more you donate, the higher your chances of winning and the Pistols + Popcorn ethics committee has determined that it’s totally ok to be motivated by that.


Again – to enter, donate HERE.

 

So….Tell ‘Em What They’ll Win, Jodi…

 
The first online raffle item is donated from my pal Michelle Williams.  (Yeh, that’s right….I’m name dropping now.  Also: using the bold button.  I’m here, I’m boldly name dropping, get used to it.)  Michelle recently finished a film called “Shutter Island”, directed by Martin Scorsese.  The cast includes Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo, Ben Kingsley, and Max Von Sydow.  (What a great group of kids – I hope they make it some day!)


Michelle has arranged for me to give away two passes to the Red Carpet Premier of “Shutter Island”, to take place in New York, in September/October of 2009.  (Exact dates will be given before the drawing.)  While she won’t actually be your date so don’t get any ideas, she will be more than happy to hang out for a bit and assist you and your (+1) in finding your seats in the theater.  She’s helpful like that.  (Note: this prize does not include transportation or lodging so if you don’t live in NYC why not schedule a little vacay around this, hmmm?)

 

This raffle begins today, June 3, 2009 and will be open for one week, ending on June 10, 2009.  Tickets generated before midnight Brooklyn time (yeh yeh I know it isn’t a time zone, but you get the idea) will be entered in the drawing to take place on June 30, 2009.  The raffle will be re-opened to anyone who attends the event at Layla Jones Pizza in person that night. The winners will be announced at Layla Jones, and posted on Pistols + Popcorn the following day.


Click here to make your donation, and generate your virtual raffle ticket.


But Wait There’s More???

New raffles will be announced every week through June so start saving your pennies, citizens.  Remember it’s all going to fight cancer.  Every penny.  Prizes will be donated by:

And I’m not even done hitting people up yet.  For reals.  

Closing it out with some words posted by my brother on his site, this past Tuesday:

 

“What helps — a little — is to know that I, along with you, am at least doing something in this fight. It’s not enough to help Susan, and I hate myself for not having done more sooner.


But it is something, and you’re all helping me feel like I’m doing something important. And that helps me. Thank you for that.”

 

Seriously.  Thank you.

21 responses to “Name Dropping Famous Friends to Fight Cancer

  1. Read FC’s post on this subject, truly, this is being kicked up a notch.Loving the Elzar reference by the way.

  2. I am not ashamed to say that I have been a Michelle Williams fan for a long time. I love her even more now, seeing as she’s supporting Fatty like this. I think the paparazzi should donate all the money they get off stalking her to the Livestrong Challenge. Can you make that happen?I’ll be entering. Probably enough times to rig the contest. Thanks Jodi!

  3. You and your brother working together is very inspiring. Keep on doing this work. You’re changing the world.

  4. This is awesome what you are doing! I hope I can save some money to help donate some more!

  5. Oh sure, create a raffle AFTER I donated….Now I’m going to have to be a re-giver…HA HA. No seriously this is AWESOME Jodi. Great idea. Let’s put this Cancer thing to rest once and for all.

  6. Just entered/donated. I’d better take my red carpet clothes to the cleaner.

  7. Michelle is so pretty there.But please remind her that you’re MY sister and back off, yo.(BTW, nice work, yo.)

  8. Entered. Even if I don’t win, I’m feeling good about this. Cool contest.

  9. These are the kinds of these I love to see celebrities get involved with. Tip of the hat to Ms. Williams.

  10. link duly cross-posted and donation made. i’m sick and tired of this cancer bullshit.

  11. Will an email notice be sent as well?

  12. MattC (Team Fatty San Jose co-Capt)

    Ahhhh Jodi…you and Elden simply blow me away…seriously! You have both unleashed your POWERS against the forces of evil, and are truly making a difference! I’m honored to be a part of it with you, and it brings tears to my eyes to see how YOU have stepped it up a notch (or 3…BAM BAM BAM!!!) The bucket is filling…drop by drop. WHEN we beat cancer, we’ll all know we were part of it…and that will really be something to be proud of!WIN SUSAN!!

  13. Hey Jenn You should receive an email confirmation directly from the Lance Armstrong Foundation regarding your donation. An email notice will be sent by me to each winner before I post the names.

  14. I will take this chance to just say I have always thought Michelle Williams was a real beauty. Now I’m so happy to learn that it extends past her outward appearance. Tell her “thank you” from me. I’m engaged in my own battle with cancer right now. I feel like more and more people are becoming involved through things like this, writings like yours, and high profile people giving some of their time, and I take that personally.

  15. It Just Keeps Getting Better

    Did you guys hear the one about the blogger geek who thought she’d throw a little fundraiser together but couldn’t find anyone to donate any prizes? Well that’s not ME, suckahs. Because I am surrounded by greatness, I have had greatness gifted to me. I’d like to pass this greatness on to you, because you know, you’re super great. Since announcing this shin-dig, I’ve had more prizes added to the kitty. Meow. Such as? Well….. Tickets to the Colbert ReportMy brother’s response was, “Very cool. But aren’t those free?” Yes they are free …

  16. It Just Keeps Getting Better

    Did you guys hear the one about the blogger geek who thought she’d throw a little fundraiser together to benefit the Lance Armstrong Foundation, but couldn’t find anyone to donate any prizes? Well that’s not ME, suckahs. Because I am surrounded by greatness, I have had greatness gifted to me. I’d like to pass this greatness on to you, because you know, you’re super great. Since announcing this shin-dig, I’ve had more prizes added to the kitty. Meow. Such as? Well….. Tickets to the Colbert ReportMy brother’s response was, “Very cool. But aren’t those …

  17. It Just Keeps Getting Better

    Did you guys hear the one about the blogger geek who thought she’d throw a little fundraiser together to benefit the Lance Armstrong Foundation, but couldn’t find anyone to donate any prizes? Well that’s not ME, suckahs. Because I am surrounded by greatness, I have had greatness gifted to me. I’d like to pass this greatness on to you, because you know, you’re super great. Since announcing this shin-dig, I’ve had more prizes added to the kitty. Meow. Such as? Well….. Tickets to the Colbert ReportMy brother’s response was, “Very cool. But aren’t those …

  18. New Super Glam Prize – Win All Points West Tickets

    And so the big announcement – beginning today, every $5.00 you donate to the Pistols Popcorn Livestrong Challenge page will generate a virtual raffle tickets to All Points West. To find out why I’m participating in the Livestrong Challenge click here. This prize is the one that tempted me to forego all my good intentions, keep the booty and then just dodge the philanthropist that donated them to the cause. But no can’t do it but YES I thought about it and there I said it. I’ve gone back and forth on should …

  19. I am sorry to hear this!I hope it will solve.We will be in touch.

  20. New Super Glam Prize – Win All Points West Tickets

    And so the big announcement – beginning today, every $5.00 you donate to the Pistols Popcorn Livestrong Challenge page will generate a virtual raffle tickets to All Points West. To find out why I’m participating in the Livestrong Challenge click here. To find out what other prizes will be on the block click here. This prize is the one that tempted me to forego all my good intentions, keep the booty and then just dodge the philanthropist that donated them to the cause. But no can’t do it but YES I thought about …

  21. How do i get my doctor to prescribe methadone.

    Treating depression with methadone.

Leave a comment