You See What I Did There?

I understand that I promised an announcement today regarding the Livestrong Challenge and what I’d like to do about it but ladies and gentlemen, I think you’ll have to wait until Wednesday not because I’m a tease or want to build suspense but because the weekend was far too beautiful and action packed for me to tear myself away from the creatures surrounding me.  The creatures call themselves Roan and Boone.

 
We began on Saturday with a street festival called “Touch-A-Truck”.  I couldn’t resist the urge to comment, “How autoerotic” every chance I got because it’s very exciting to me when I get to be ha ha ha clever enough to play with words like that.  However, maybe not so appropriate around children, but who’s gonna call child services?  You?  I thought not.  The magic of the festival was that kids could climb onboard all sorts of city vehicles to raise cash for the YMCA.  So, there was a fire truck, an ambulance, ambulance stretchers, a mail truck, a double-decker sightseeing bus, a police car and more!  Roan and Boone went from one to the next, until they saw the requisite bouncy castle and I had to get outta there super-quick.  Those things undo me.  Always a ridiculous amount of money for the quickest 3 minutes of Roan’s life.  I prefer for him to jump on my bed for free.  Also no random children have thrown-up in my bed.  Only ones I know.  I’ve seen what happens in those castles.

We made haste and crossed the street to spend the afternoon in Central Park.  I don’t even know what we did there but it took us around four hours and everyone had bright pink and red lips afterwards.  I’m recalling ice cream.  A few trains later and we landed at home, with pizza ordered for the boys and Thai food ordered for Anson and Lori and myself.  Boone stayed over for a sleepover (I still feel dirty saying sleepover because it’s a damn lie.  Not too much sleep happening but a lot of dizzying laughter going on.  So.)
 

Sunday we got our entrepreneurial skills on and packed up our outgrown bicycles to swap them at the Brooklyn Bicycle Jumble.  Surrounded by the underbelly of the biking culture and the fanatics, Roan and Boone peddled their wares for the masses, and were successful.  Roan traded up to a bigger bike with handbrakes, and Boone found the bike of his dreams, equipped with grinding pegs.  

 

We headed over to the park to test drive the goods but had to stop by the Brooklyn Superhero Supply Co. (Ever vigilant, ever true.)  This place = awesome.  It’s true purpose is a writing-tutoring center, but the center is funded in part by the storefront, and hidden in a back room through a secret passage.  The storefront sells superhero supplies, like capes.  They have a cape testing platform (a grate with a high-powered fan situated underneath to simulate wind in the cape), which Roan needed to avail himself of.  His choice? Gold Lamé, obviously.
 

The park was where we all hit our wall, but not before getting in the opportunity to scale a monument which is probably illegal but pretty funny for a picture.  At the end of the day, it comes down to the pictures.  Did we have fun?  Yes.  Can we prove it?  Without a doubt. 
   


So – Wednesday.  I unveil my plans for the Livestrong Challenge and let me just say: the amount of help I’ve been offered by my local friends and business owners have been mind-blowing.  If you are someone who lives in the area and thinks you may want to help get in touch with me man!  I have some great prizes lined up but can always use more.  Do it, suckah!

 

And now I must go pass out.  I am apparently not 5 years old like Roan.  Although to my credit I did not fall asleep while chewing edamame tonight at dinner like somebody I know.  Just sayin’. 

14 responses to “You See What I Did There?

  1. Wow, it looks like you guys had a blast! I never knew there were so many things going on in NYC until I started reading your site!

  2. Um, is that boy wearing the same clothes two days in a row?(Thanks for the good times. NYC if fine, but with a cousin, it’s superfine.)

  3. It is these kinds of posts that make me miss New York. It is a great place to live when the winter goes away. Great shots of Roan and Boone by the way.

  4. oh yeah, i love the monument photo set! totally worth a little rule-breakage 😀

  5. You know what’s interesting is that there is ALWAYS something to do that’s awesome and free here. That’s what I love about NYC. Most people think about how expensive everything is (which is true if you hit all the usual suspects), but you can rock an entire weekend for under 20 bucks including transportation if you try.

  6. I know it’s shocking – SHOCKING- about the same clothing. Luckily he did change into some Mario PJ’s for a late-evening jaunt at the park.

  7. Yeh you know Winter does test even the most fanatical lovers of this place. But when Spring rolls around it is unbelievable. So much to do – so many ice cream trucks around.

  8. Thanks Janet! Glad you see it my way – I couldn’t have stopped them anyway. Sometimes you just have to sit back and relax and document.

  9. As always, a lovely set of pictures to represent your fabulous weekend. I think a superhero store is just about the best thing I’ve ever heard of, by the way. Who doesn’t want to test out a gold cape fluttering in the wind?

  10. LOL, auto-erotic! I wanted to let you know that I featured you today on blogher.com. And yay, keep on blogging ! Especially if it’s a little bit weird and involves thongs, trucks, “idle parenting”, and grown up banana pudding.

  11. You know that store totally rocks. They have great workshops as well – making music videos, film making workshops – tons of creative stuff that I would have killed to do in my angsty youth. Roan most def digs it.

  12. Wow thanks Liz – I loved your write-up, and have checked out the other people you mentioned there. What a great smattering of styles. Thanks for including me! Mmmmmmmm, pudding. Yes.

  13. Nice to meet you, I found you thru Alaina (Ms Single Mama). Thanks so much for explaining “Touch A Truck”!!! A school i drive by daily on my way to work, had this on their marquee for weeks and I was so perplexed to know what that meant. Plus, YMCA is my favorite charity so that is so great that your fam participated! Kudos!

  14. Jodi, I’m completely intrigued that you went to the Superhero Supply Co!! I’ve been thinking of applying to volunteer in their counseling/writing center. Has Roan ever been involved in one of their programs? Any advice? Wisdom?I know you guys must miss the Hays family… as do I. We’d love to see you, Ansen, and purple-streaked Roan around CCfB sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

