Family List

[Update: The voting seems to be back up for the Nickelodeon Parents’ Picks Awards.  if it doesn’t make you want to poke yourself in the eyeball, click here and vote for me, Pistols + Popcorn, ya heard?  Then do it again tomorrow and the next day and the next until July 15th.  Thanks.]


I have some exciting news I’ll be announcing on Monday regarding a fundraising event I’ll be putting together for the Livestrong Challenge.  I’ve been pulling in favors from everyone I know, and am about to ask a bunch of people I don’t know for favors as well.  Really, how can I lose? There will be items to be won for the New York locals, and some for the other citizens of the world.  So sit tight for that announcement.  Wanna donate now?  Do it here.

 

Until then, I have to say I’m probably not all that witty or insightful today because I just said good-bye last night to some of my best friends. While I used my best coping mechanism (denial) for as long as I could, we finally had our last supper, and said good-bye.  Sophia, who has been Roan’s best friend for over half his life, played with my boy like it was any other night: avoiding the hot lava on the floor, tormenting her younger brother with many assists from Roan, and sneaking more than one dessert.  I couldn’t really figure out how to leave their house, knowing that it would be the last time we’d leave their familiar stoop.  But my mothering instincts finally prevailed over my inability to leave and I knew I had to get Roan to bed.  So we all hugged, expressed our love, and Roan, Anson and I walked home in the rain.

 

I count myself as one lucky lady to have a multitude of people in my life who are more awesome than your average person.  Still, it is amazingly sad to see even one of my friends go – and my heart breaks that Roan’s loosing his sleepover pal. 

 

The good side is that my friends are making a move that is right for them, at this time in their lives.  I can be happy for that.  The other piece of good news is the profound declaration from Sophia that she is going to make a Family List, and that we are on it. That’s a pretty good way to leave things, because it means we’re not really leaving them at all. 

4 responses to “Family List

  1. That is sad that you’re friends are moving away. At least you recognize it is better for them, you are a true friend because of that!

  2. Wow, sorry to hear your good friends are moving away. I know how hard solid friendships are to come by (for me at least). It sounds like Roan has had an amazing thing going with Sophia- what a gift. He can model all of his future friendships on this glowing example.Those good people in your life who go missing somewhere along the way….they may pop back in after 20+ years just to say “wassup?” Hint, Hint. Then the reunion is like welcoming back a little piece of yourself. I know I’m laying it on thick, but hey, I really want to see you lady!

  3. it can be really hard to be happy for someone’s next step, when it’s a step away from you.

  4. How many times have I said a prayer of thanks for you, Roan, Anson and the friendship you have offered to my family? Thank you for sharing so much of yourselves with them. When I’m in big-sister-worrying-about-my-baby-brother mode, I have often thought of y’all and known that he and his are taken care of.

Leave a Reply

