Power Songs

Out on the streets, that’s where we meet

You make the night, I always cross the line

Blah na ble blah….blha nah nah neah….

Etc.

 

ROUND AND ROUND

With love we’ll find a way just give it time

ROUND AND ROUND

What comes around goes around, I’ll tell you why (echo: why why)

 

Ok citizens I know that Monday may or may not be the best day to revisit the brilliance of Ratt and the 80’s.  But I need your help. Right now, to my chagrin, this song by Ratt is my Power Song.  That’s right – I’ve been running on the Brooklyn Bridge, the Manhattan Bridge, through China Town and the Bowery singing this thing.  I’m not sure how it ended up on my play list.  But the point is that what’s done is done, it is on there and I’ll be a monkey’s uncle if I don’t love running while singing to this thing.  I know full well the consequences of liking such a dorky song.  It may implicate me as a dork.  But in the past I’ve had better songs.  Such as:

 

Kanye:  Stronger (I can’t hate him even though I want to)

Santogold:  Unstoppable (still a favorite)

Arctic Monkeys: Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor (because obviously I do)

Scissor Sisters: Take Your Mama Out (always a good idea to listen to disco-y goodness)

Sex Pistols: Pretty Vacant (because I was hard core back in London, er uh Grand Junction)

Melissa Etheridge: I Run for Life (had to stop because I’d always be running with tears streaking my face on this one)

 

Ok, so you see I am all over the place here.  But right now I’m in Ratt Hell which is different than Normal Hell because Ratt Hell demands that you acknowledge that you are inspired by a guy that wears spandex, has kind of gerry-curl long hair complete with shiny headband, and is likely playing County Fairs for the price of a Corn Dog/Curly Fry combo meal. 

 

So: what do you listen to that gets your go on?  Give me your suggestions and I’ll let you know if they get me there.  Clearly: the bar is set pretty low, so don’t be shy.

24 responses to “Power Songs

  1. You’ve gotta add “Epic” by Faith No More. Classic!

  2. U2: ElevationThe Cult: King Contrary ManElastica: StutterSTP: Tumble in the RoughBeastie Boys: SabotageYour mileage may vary, but these get me going…

  3. Devo: Uncontrollable UrgeBeastie Boys: ShadrachSocial Distortion: Don’t Take Me For GrantedOf these three, I have ultimately high confidence in the Social Distortion track. Seriously. Listen to it.

  4. Oh, and I also covered a similar topic — tho climbing songs are not an exact match to power songs — here:http://www.fatcyclist.com/2007/04/03/7-perfect-climbing-songs/

  5. Calabria – ENUR

    This is my first and my last song on my hour long run playlist.

  6. I can’t even give my real name.Survivor: Eye of the Tiger.Oh, the shame.

  7. Lady Don’t Tek No: LatryxMy go to for the past 5 years

  8. For running, I like simple guitar riffs–think rockabilly or X. Reverend Horton Heat is pretty sweet. X is good b/c you can listen to older stuff when you’re fired up (Los Angeles, etc.) and more mellow newer stuff when you’re just “putting in miles” (More Fun in the New World).

  9. This kinda sad too but…**sigh**Corbin Bleu “Push It To The Limit” Yeah – the Disney guy…and, not quite as shameful:Black Eyed Peas “Let’s Get it Started”

  10. I Want You to Want Me – Cheap TrickSometimes- JamesCalifornia Stars- Billy Bragg & WilcoMay Your Good Lord- Midge UreLook Back in Anger- OasisSay Hello, Wave Goodbye- Soft CellHurt- Johnny CashJust Like Honey- Jesus & Mary ChainIt’s kind of a weird mix but it works.

  11. Hounds of love (new mix)-the futureheadsjoin in the chant -nitzer ebbset it off – strafepunkrock girl -the Dead milk menThe dope show-Marilyn MansonBullet with butterflywings – Smashing pumpkinsCloser – Nine inch nailsHere’s where we start being embarassedFaith – Limp Bizkitlose my breath – destiny’s childMilkshake – KelisBlowing me up with her love – JC Chasezsexyback – JTBaby one more time -Britney SpearsToxic – Brit BritMe against the music – Brit and Madonna15ish songs get me through most cardio-workoutsThere is a more Hip-Hop list as well, but this one is way more wrong.Cheers,Sh-lola

  12. Wow, there’s some terrific stuff in those lists up there. Pretty much any tune from Soundgarden’s Badmotorfinger album will get me seriously amped up.

  13. Isn’t this everyone’s power song?

  14. Do NOT be ashamed to crank up “Round and Round”. Ratt rocks FTW~!!

  15. Story of My Life by Social Distortion. Their version of Johnny Cash’s Ring of Fire is awesome, btwAngel of Harlem by U2 (In God’s Country is another one)If I list any more I’ll give away my age. Most of the ones listed above I have never even heard of!!!

  16. Baddest Ruffest by Backyard Dog (it’s on the Bend it Like Beckham soundtrack)Fasten Your Seatbelt by PendulumElectric Demons in Love by Electric SixPump It by the Black Eyed PeasIn A Gadda Da Vida by High Contrast–those will push me out of a steady pace right quick.Rock Lobster by the B-52s is a nice longer song with a good running cadence. I have to try hard not to sing “rock lobsta!”

  17. LOVE some of the choices above…I’m adding to my running playlist as I type. Multitasking, you know?Goldfrapp – Strict MachineWolfmother – WomanQueen – Don’t Stop Me NowEagles of Death Metal – I want you so hardMisfits – Where Eagles DareDeath from Above 1979 – Romantic RightsM.I.A. – Bucky Done GunBritney – WomanizerThe Faint – Worked Up So Sexual

  18. dawn from Houston

    El Matador – Los Fabulosos CadillacsBlister in the Sun – The Violent Femmes(actually the whole Grosse Point Blank soundtrack)anything Eminem

  19. Ginger Baker’s drum solo from Toad is on a constant loop in my head, of course. Isn’t it in everybody’s?Oh okay, sometimes when I cycle I whistle. It’s a breathing exercise. (You whistle on the inhales and exhales).Choices range from Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy” to Johnny Cash’s “Ring of Fire” and The Kink’s “Lola.” There are some Coltrane tunes that work well also. The Ramones’ “I Wanna Be Sedated” works in sentiment, but not as a breathing exercise — too staccato.When climbing steep hills, setting one’s breathing to the chorus from “The Lion Sleeps Tonight” is a useful exercise, but there are some things that even I won’t whistle.And when marshaling the Five Boro Bike Tour the other weekend, I had to whistle “Singing in the Rain.” Ten hours in a cold rain will do that to you.

  20. I’m slightly ashamed. But, what gets ya groovin’ gets ya groovin, right?All American Rejects, Move AlongMetro Station – Shake Shake, Shake Shake Shake It!

  21. BurkeInTheOzarks

    I’m more of an album guy myself. I mean, you can only replay one song over and over so many times before you go loco. So, here are some suggestions that rock pretty much start to finish:Built to Spill – Live…And You Will Know US By The Trail of Dead – Source Tags and CodesSmashing Pumpkins – GishAutolux – Future PerfectMuse – AbsolutionPretty Girls Make Graves – Good HealthThe Alkaline Trio – The Alkaline TrioReverend Horton Heat – Liquor in the FrontFar – Water and SolutionsSparta – Wiretap ScarsThe Raconteurs – Consolers of the LonelyOkay, I’ll stop.

  22. Love is a Battlefield–Pat Benetar).Stronger–Kanye (I fully agree about wanting so badly to hate him)Seventeen Years–Ratatat

  23. Kathie Ashmore

    Okay, so I like Top 40 songs, don’t hate me! Right now, Gives You Hell by the All American Rejects gets me going!How about a little MC Hammer, U Can’t Touch This? he heRock on, Jodi. Much love:)

  24. I can’t get enough of “Bad Reputation” by Joan Jett. I’m always stoked when it comes up on my playlist. After reading the comments I can see I’m going to be spending a lot of time on itunes today.

Leave a Reply

