Easter Lessons

I don’t think his expression would be much different while listening to Bible stories
 
My 10-year-old nephew, Boone, hasn’t really been raised in any religious tradition.  He’s a little suspicious of the old Christian parables, proclaiming after visiting his grandmother’s Mormon church this past Sunday that “I don’t really believe in the stories, but they are pretty interesting”.  Indeed.  Boone is also a Brooklynite, through and through, and has a pretty good grasp of the spectrum of religious beliefs around him.


While attending Primary on this same Sunday (Primary is the children’s program in the Mormon church), Boone was gamely trying to participate in an activity they had going.  Easter Eggs full of candy were given to kids who had the right answers to questions based on the Bible and the Book of Mormon.  Since the questions weren’t multiple choices, and Boone’s ability to pluck information out of the air doesn’t work so well, he was striking out each time.  Undeterred, his arm shot up again and again with the hope of a right answer and the treat of candy.  No dice.

 

The question was posed, “What do the letters INRI which were above Jesus’ head on the cross mean?”  A well-versed child piped up “King of the Jews”.  Boone finally saw his chance for redemption, for the Egg of Candy.  Referencing his many Jewish friends in Brooklyn, he proudly, confidently and triumphantly put his hand up and corrected the child.  “Excuse me, but I think you mean King of the Christians”. 

 

I’m just hoping that the Easter Bunny has the same sense of humor as me and bestowed a bounty of candy-filled eggs on that child. 

11 responses to “Easter Lessons

  1. I don’t usually comment but I had to speak up and say this story made me laugh. My child has not been raised in any religion either, and when we’ve had the occasion to go to someone else’s church, there seems to be no end to the questions and funny comments that she comes up with. Very enjoyable read.

  2. I was actually in Brooklyn a couple of weeks ago, I know what you mean by saying he has a wide spectrum of religious views it is so awesome in the city because you can experience all of them! You made me laugh and remember my visits to the city!, thanks!

  3. I’ve always thought the Bible was a good read. A fictional read, but interesting stories. Looks like your nephew and I may have a lot in common.

  4. It does make sense. I like how that kid is thinking.

  5. Thanks! I do find that the material at pretty much any church lends itself to some interesting dialogue between children and their adults. I know my boy has come up with some amazing questions/comments that have made his father’s head spin. good times.

  6. Thanks for the good review. I love how “Kids bible lessons” for “young believers” is advertised by this post.xoxoxo

  7. One of my favorite images from my town in my head is that of four swings being occupied by tween girls in their black burqas. It reminded me of how many different types of people live here. It must be something to grow up surrounded by it – I’m glad for my boy (and his cousin) to be.

  8. Do you also love video games and climbing the walls? Just seeing if there is more common ground.

  9. I like his way as well. He’s charming and devious and smart and sweet.

  10. Yeh well I guess they think SOMEBODY’S household may benefit from these things…..

  11. Hi,The Passion is such a wonderful story, full of the most beautiful symbols of our church. The story of Jesus’ death and resurrection can be moving for any age child, as compelling as a Harry Potter book and as action-packed as a Shrek movie.Read more: “Telling the Easter Story: Religion Teacher Techniques for Easter Lessons | Suite101.com” – http://catholicism.suite101.com/article.cfm/telling_the_easter_story#ixzz0FrNjvcSQ&A

Leave a Reply

