Bob Guskind, R.I.P.

 
Photo by Hugh Crawford
I am shocked and very sad to find out that Robert Guskind of The Gowanus Lounge blog died on Wednesday.  While New York City is world famous for being one tough mother, Brooklyn and it’s tiny little neighborhoods are her tough but more vulnerable children.  Bob Guskind was one of the keepers and caretakers of the Gowanus Neighborhood, reporting on Brooklyn’s people and real estate.  His talent for creating community and rallying conversation were awesome.

I credit Bob Guskind with helping me find my own audience.  He was the first person to link to any of my posts, and made the way for my writing to be placed in Curbed, Gothamist, The New York Times, and New York Magazine.  Without his guidance, I do not think I would have found my way to any of those names.

I’ll miss you Bob.  I’ll miss your writing, your encouragement, and I will think of you every time I see a couch on a sidewalk.

4 responses to “Bob Guskind, R.I.P.

  1. I will repeat what a wise mother told me when I encountered the kissing situation for the first time:”Congratulations, your boy is normal.”

  2. Hi, The aim of our World Real Estate Directory is to provide quality real estate links that an Internet directory should provide. We accept links from all countries that offer value to our users. The directory requires a reciprocal link. This is a primary step in maintaining quality links for our visitors. We are aware of sites which may be deleted or where our link is removed. Mature sites with directories remain more often than not and provide us with traffic that we need to promote our site. It is a win-win situation. Sites with massive link pages provide nothing more than that, and we will not trade with such sites. Framed sites, real estate or otherwise, will not be added. Cloaked sites or sites using questionable search engine optimization techniques, whether real estate related or not, will not be allowed in our directory. Adult and hate sites are also disallowed. World Real Estate Directory reserves the right to refuse any submission for any reason. World Real Estate Directory also reserves the right to post submitted links in what we consider to be appropriate categories. We look forward to competing on the Internet with a quality World Real Estate Directory.san diego real estate

  3. Awesome. just awesome…i haven’t any word to appreciate this post…..Really i am impressed from this post….the person who create this post he is a great human..thanks for shared this with us.i found this informative and interesting blog so i think so its very useful and knowledge able.I would like to thank you for the efforts you have made in writing this article. I am hoping the same best work from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me.Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly.

Leave a Reply

