Mischieviousness

 
As I write this, I am listening to my son and my husband talk to each other in the bathroom.  Roan is taking a shower, and Anson is sitting next to the tub on the floor. Anson is explaining to Roan that when he was a kid nobody wore helmets while riding a bike or skateboard or even seatbelts in a car for that matter. Anson’s not trying to connect it to any life lesson, he’s just telling Roan how it was – brother to brother, more than father to son.  Most likely it is something I’ll have to undo when it gets a little warmer and Roan digs out his skateboard and I dig out his helmet and then he’ll explain to me that hey, when Dad was a kid nobody bothered with that nonsense so what’s up? 

 

Now the conversation has moved on to some suspicious sounds of splashing and laughter.  I’m guessing there must be at least an inch of water on that floor.  I can hear the sound of the shower still running, as well as big splashes so I’m guessing they’ve opted for the shower/bath combo that is totally environmentally unsound but feels good on a Sunday evening.  Anson is now telling Roan that he used to climb the highest trees with no shoes on and that a one-time consequence of having a broken arm was totally worth it.

 

Looking into the future I hope that Roan remembers his Old Dad as this young handsome devil who has nothing but time for him.  I hope they continue this relationship that I have to occasionally untie the knots of.  While I’ll probably have to get Botox soon for raising my right eyebrow in disapproval of what’s going on, I secretly am jealous that they get to be pirates together.  They break the rules, looting the kitchen for chocolate every time they let me sleep in (but still I fall for the lure without fail), they disobey subway safety rules by hanging from the hand bars, they play video games for hours on end until they’re both red-eyed and computer-headed.  But my suspicion is that the bond they’ve formed through mischieviousness will save Roan from far greater unnamed dangers of the future because he’ll have this young handsome devil by his side, as his friend, brother and father.

16 responses to “Mischieviousness

  1. Colorado Mama

    What a beautiful way for me to start the day. Makes me smile as I miss my Dad.

  2. This is such a sweet portrait of the father-son picture. These small moments really are loaded with the essence of life. Thanks for the glimpse into yours.

  3. Thanks mom – I miss your dad too.

  4. Sammy, I think the small things are the ones that bring happiness – nothing can make me smile like my boys together. Thanks for coming by.

  5. I remember when my son was much smaller, his father had never given him a bath. I asked him to do it one night when I had something else pressing to do. He accepted, and about ten minutes later I heard something that sounds just like the scene you painted. Splashing, talking, laughing. It was especially nice for me because this was in a time (at least in my life) when husbands just weren’t as involved with their children. This is just one of a handfull of memories I have of them playing together, as my husband passed away suddenly just a few years later. Your post today took me there, and brought tears to my eyes. How I miss those times, they go away just as unexpectedly as they come. I’m so happy that you seem to take hold of these times and capture them here.

  6. Cathy Louise – I’m happy when my stories connect people with their own past experiences. We have so much to remember, it is nice to have a new old memory knock on the door once in a while. Truly, I’m honored that you shared your experience here. Thank you.

  7. Well written and well said! I love to watch my son and his dad interacting. It’s so worth the knots we as mothers have to “untie.” My son has been a mama’s boy most of his life but now that he has started baseball and his dad is coaching him, Mama gets to watch them interact a lot more. It’s a beautiful thing!

  8. how wonderful! i always enjoy reading about father-son/daughter relationships because it seems like they are often overlooked.

  9. Carla – I couldn’t agree more. Roan has always gravitated towards me, and it is so cool to watch him discover the things he has in common with his dad. Even if all the things spell trouble. Stephanie – Somehow I do think that fathers still are underrated in how they impact their children. I know that the interaction Roan has with Anson is profound to him. It is cool to see how they connect with each other. It is messy, too. But more cool than messy.

  10. There’s nothing I love better than listening to my husband and son watching their favorite BBC comedy together, chortling with laughter and mirth, or having their heads buried over tools, pieces of wood, sawdust and a pile of screws and nails, a level under someone’s arm, trying to figure it all out.Bless those boys and men. How much they need each other!

  11. You’re so lucky. To have a husband and a father like Anson. Fathers are underrated and their impact will last a life time. I left my husband when my son was just four months old because I knew he could never fill that role.I’m so happy I found your blog. I hope you stop by mine.

  12. That’s the truth – they do need each other. Anson can always be brought to a smile with some of Roan’s antics. Even in the worst of times.

  13. Heya Single Mama – You know, I do believe I am lucky. There are times where I forget it, but then there are these times where the magnitude of my luck knocks the breath out of me. I’ve been looking at your writing and can happily return the sentiment – you are a lucky lady as well, with a beautiful son. One who is being raised with love. There is nothing better.

  14. such a sweet entry – brought tears to my eyes – it is such a special relationship and anson is one great dad – three cheers for great dads like anson!

  15. I believe that everything in life is a lesson. There is an opportunity to learn from everything. And when you’re faced with a hard situation, think about what you can learn from it and how you can benefit from it.

  16. Life without relations. I can’t thing about this.God bless you with such happiness.

Leave a Reply

